How can I be Antiracist as a Foreigner?

September 30th, 2020

Workshop + panel: 1.15-3.30 PM EST | 7.15-9.30 PM CET

Panel only: 2.00-2.45 PM EST | 8.00-8.45 PM CET

Speakers: Dr. Natasha A. Kelly and Dr. Niambi M. Carter

Registration here (free of charge and open to everyone)

On 30 September 2020, we will kick off the German American Event Series with a workshop on antiracism: “How can I be Antiracist as a Foreigner?”

The outrage over the murders of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, and so many others has found a vocal echo in Germany, and the Black Lives Matter movement has long transcended U.S. borders. However, debates on race and racism differ between the USA and Germany. For example, while race is broadly defined within a social construct in the US, it is rooted in German history through biological concepts of race. Therefore, discussing race and racism as a German in the U.S. or as an American in Germany can be confusing and uncomfortable. In this event, we will explore how one becomes an antiracist in a foreign country or culture by examining racism in Germany and the USA, particularly through their respective histories of oppression & colonialism and their sociopolitical structures of power. We will ask the question of how to derive concrete actions from these lessons.

This event has two options for you: You can choose to attend an interactive workshop that allows you to interact with peer participants before the panel discussion and with the speakers afterwards. Alternatively, you can register for the panel discussion only and follow via live stream. Both options require prior registration.